image-333.jpg
image-350.jpg
image-479.jpg
buddy_boy.jpg
image-700.jpg
Heisenberg.jpg
Rolex-Submariner-116610-LN.jpg
golden.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider markmon.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#115 10 years ago
Quoted from S37VEN:

Can't wait for the new code though I will probably keep the up-post disabled. Just can't get enough of those loops and spinners.

It seems like the up post should always stay down on left orbit and only operate on right. I also disabled mine.

#184 10 years ago
Quoted from digitalbytes:

I know the sling of doom well. I don't even turn the flasher to point towards the playfield anymore because it will just end up pointing back at the side of the cab. At one point I did turn the coils down and I thought that I was not getting as many of these airballs but if the update does not fix the problem I may have to pull out the solder gun.
I feel lucky at the moment because I am still learning to play well enough to activate all the existing features of the machine reliably. I can only hope by the time I can do that consistently that a new update is out.

4 ohm resistors soldered inline on one of the coil lugs cures this while still keeping the slings very fast.

#214 10 years ago
Quoted from Purpledrilmonkey:

People keep saying it - solder 4 ohm 10W resistors in line with the sling coils. It literally takes 30 seconds, makes the game 100% more fun. When the new software comes out, remove them to try it out.
I know you shouldn't have to do this on a brand new game, but it works. Being stubborn and waiting for Stern to fix it isn't going to change the airballs in the meantime.

This isn't a problem with game software. Every single recent stern has the same high powered slings sing tron and the same code to run them. Arguably, if you don't keep your games cleaned and waxed, the problem is not so noticable. But all my games have the 4 ohm resistors in line. It's only a few cents in cost and is a permanent fix.