Weird LOTR issue

By Kkuoppamaki

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

Hi

I played my LOTR yesterday and noticed that when I hit the ring to active a mode the POTD activates too. In other words I started collecting souls with every hit, even the bumpers did that. While the mode was on, things got a bit mixed up, I even saw 'press start' on the DMD sporadically. Other than that everything seems to be working, when hitting the tower to enter POTD it worked just fine.

Any ideas on where to start troubleshooting this? I'm still new to pin repair so any advice is more than appreciated

Big thanks,
-K

#2 10 years ago

Sorry, never happened to me on my LOTR. And I'm also terrible / learning in the pin repair dept.

#3 10 years ago

That doesn't sound good at all. At first it sounded like a grounding issue, but if your display showed the "press start" display, you might check out your boards. Make sure those batteries didn't start leaking on the boards. You might also want to push down on all the chips, like ROM chips and what not to make sure they're making good connections.

#4 10 years ago

Thanks. After further study I found that one fuse (F27) was blown. This fuse is related to GI, funny it could cause that kind of behavior but at least based on a quick test game it seems that was it

#5 10 years ago

Can't see a GI fuse causing that, but I've been wrong before. If it happens again take note of where all the balls are when it happens: in trough, ball lock, etc. Sounds like a classic switch matrix problem.

#6 10 years ago

I agree bet the problem shows back up.

#7 10 years ago

Thanks, I hope it doesnt reappear but if it does any advice on where to start? If it's a classic switch matrix problem how to troubleshoot and fix that?

#8 10 years ago
Quoted from Kkuoppamaki:

Thanks, I hope it doesnt reappear but if it does any advice on where to start? If it's a classic switch matrix problem how to troubleshoot and fix that?