4.jpg
3.jpg
2.jpg
20130530_133445.jpg
Lights.jpg
Mystery.jpg
missing.jpg
wire.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider MattG.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 10 years ago

Making steady progress on my Fire!. Rebuilt both flippers, replaced the slam tilt and a bunch of other stuff.

Right now I'm working on a small cluster of GI lighting in the top right of the PF. I know it's getting power because the lights will occasionally give off a very weak glow. I have replaced the bulbs and the fuses. I've checked the soldering and everything looks clean. I've also checked the connectors and everything seems fine. There is no burning or charring. I've got a DMM but am new to using it and don't know what I should do. I've checked the wiki and a tutorial video but I'm stuck.

Should I move on to "Lamp Matrix Row and Column Testing"? I've never done it before but it doesn't seem incredibly complex. I' just curious if I'm heading the the right direction with my repairs.

In addition to the lighting, I have attached two extra pictures. One is of a gray wire with yellow stripes. It ends in a connector, but I can't find anywhere to connect it! I looked through the manual and can't seem to pinpoint it's function. Anyone know what it is?

And lastly, I've included another picture showing an male connection with no wires attached. According to the manual it is the 3j7 relay control but that's all I can figure out. Should I have something connected here? Because I can't find the appropriate wire anywhere in the machine.

Any help appreciated, thanks!

SS.jpgSS.jpg Map.jpgMap.jpg wire.jpgwire.jpg missing.jpgmissing.jpg

#3 10 years ago

No, the knocker works just fine. I can't figure it out!

Thanks for trying though!

#8 10 years ago

Progress report: