(Topic ID: 350824)

Philips Hue Light Syncing

By PinballQeer

3 months ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 months ago

I've only extremely recently gotten into pinball and have gone off the deep end a bit already. I have my pinball in my basement queer cave and have a whole bunch of video game stuff set up for the old rockband game, complete with the philips hue sync app running on my TV to my light for a real rock show effect for that game. I've been thinking of how to get the lights to sync to the new zeppelin pinball and add some pinball specific lighting. I'm not a great programmer but I like to think my engineer background lets me think of some creative solutions.

Since the sync app on the TV works based off of whatever is on the TV screen - is there any way I couldn't connect a webcam in the ceiling that points at the playfield and connect that to the TV and then sync the lights through the TV? It would also allow anyone hanging out to watch the pin on the TV from the comfort of a couch if so desired. I'm thinking it might work better if I did it via a sync box instead of the app so the TV could remain off while watching but the sync box would still be operating the lighting. In theory the lights should then kind of automatically compliment the colors on the playfield right? I'm going to try a test run with with a laptop/hdmi to test out the concept/understand the lag...but has anyone tried something similar to this?

#2 3 months ago

This is a really interesting idea. In theory it could work as there is an HDMI out on the Stern Spike 2 boards that I think you could tie into the Hue sync module. Other pin suppliers it may be more of a challenge.

#4 3 months ago