100_1153e.jpg
100_1151e.jpg
100_1152e.jpg
100_1149e.jpg
100_1145e.jpg
100_1288.JPG
#1 9 years ago

Hey everyone,

Just getting started with the pinball hobby and picked up a non-working Mars God of War last week. I studied electronics for a few years in college and figured this would be an interesting little project.

From what I've been reading the first thing to look for on these machines is intact backglass which mine has. The biggest issues I've seen so far are fried high voltage transistors on the driver board that have gotten so hot that the PCB started to burn and melt. Looks like it isn't the first time it happened to the board as someone soldered jumpers to the transistors to replace the burned off PCB traces. Also noticed a Texas Instruments IC has blown its top off although I'm not sure if that is physical damage or from an electrical issue. The main other issues I've seen are the front 4 drop targets are all broken off, someone has put a screw though the playfield from underneath (although it's back behind the pop bumpers and not very visible once I remove the screw). The rubbers are shot and there was a melted coil sitting in the bottom of the machine (there are still a number of coils under there that look original, I'm wondering if those are the culprits that toasted the boards). Also noticed the wall plug has been hacked off for some reason so I may have to do some investigation around the transformers too. Anyone know how well those transformers and other power supply parts hold up to the test of time?

Anyways if anyone could give some good starting points on restoring the machine I would love to hear them!

100_1145e.jpg100_1145e.jpg 100_1149e.jpg100_1149e.jpg 100_1151e.jpg100_1151e.jpg 100_1152e.jpg100_1152e.jpg 100_1153e.jpg100_1153e.jpg 100_1154e.jpg100_1154e.jpg 100_1158e.jpg100_1158e.jpg 100_1159e.jpg100_1159e.jpg 100_1162e.jpg100_1162e.jpg
#2 9 years ago

I cant give advice but I will be watching

#3 9 years ago