(Topic ID: 5699)

bally rapid fire problems with s&t and targets

By brokenwallet

12 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 12 years ago

hi guys i am new at this but am learning fast, i have a bally rapid fire with a ultimate mpu installed, first problem i have is that i have no sound, during diagnostic check of led i am only getting 3 flashes wich would indicate i am having a problem with u11 or u12, so i swapped the u11 pia out for another....same thing, i noticed i do not have a chip installed at u12 but read some games dont and i know this board is original so i assume i dont have one, so im stumped. next problem is some of the targets are dead, they light up but dont go off when you hit them, i tried switching them around but the problem stays at the same target, any ideas? any help would be appreciated

9 months later
#2 11 years ago

Did you try wiggling the socketed IC's ont the S&T and rebooting?Ive fixed a few of these sound boards that just had corroded or sloppy sockets also check the main larger connector if one of the pins are not making contact it will stop half way through diognostic startup most likley a crap socket and this S&T would be missing the voice IC becouse there is sound only on this board.
Ifyou have several targets dead see which switch matrix wires they have in common if its the same wire most likley a bad pin on the sw matrix connector or diode on the mpu also check the connector ont the opticle board might have poor connector or cracked solder joint

5 years later
#3 6 years ago
Quoted from brokenwallet: