2 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Old Chicago Extra Ball (resized).jpg
#1 2 years ago

Hi guys, I posted here a while back for help with my Bally Old Chicago and was grateful for how helpful everyone was.

I am very new to EM pinball repair and am still wrapping my brain around reading schematics. I've owned this machine for probably 6 or 7 months and yesterday I encountered an issue with it. Normally on Old Chicago if you hit all the drop targets in your turn you are awarded an extra ball and a light on the backglass appears that says "Same Player Shoots Again"

Well now when all the targets drop down, they go back up as normal and the lights on the playfield come on indicating that an additional ball has been earned but when the ball drains it does not award the extra ball (and the same player shoots again light on the backglass does not come on), it simply moves on to the next ball or ends the game if it was the last ball. It does this for both single player and multi player games.

I am at work right now so I won't get a chance to work on the pin until later today but any advice is greatly appreciated so that I maybe have an idea of where to start.

Thanks!

#2 2 years ago
Quoted from Defoust:

the lights on the playfield come on indicating that an additional ball has been earned but when the ball drains it does not award the extra ball (and the same player shoots again light on the backglass does not come on)

So the playfield Shoot Again light comes on but the backglass Shoot Again light doesn't? They're wired in parallel so it could be a bad bulb or a jones plug issue.

Assuming one of them comes on that indicates that the Extra Ball relay fires and stays active through the end of the ball. If that's the case I'd check this switch in the Ball Count circuit:
Old Chicago Extra Ball (resized).jpgOld Chicago Extra Ball (resized).jpg