knocker_BallyHiDeal.JPG
Bally_1975_Knocer_COLOUR.png
IMG_6286 (Medium).JPG
IMG_6282.JPG
IMG_6284.JPG
387933-i.jpg
image-10[1].jpg
#1 9 years ago

I recently purchased (and am a complete newbie) a 1975 Bally Hi-Deal pinball. At first setup, it turned on and everything seemed great - until you started a new game. Once a game was started, a loud buzzing noise was heard from the top right corner area of the backbox. Once the last ball fell and the game was over, the noise would go away. Until the next game was started.

Of course, this didn't stop my young boys from playing the game. About 2 hours of game play later over the course of that evening and the next morning, the game would no longer work when turned on. The coin door lights will come on, but nothing else will light up. Game will not start.

Taking a look inside, I discovered there's a fuse that has blown. I replaced the fuse, turned machine on, and fuse immediately blew again. It's the third fuse in a bank of four.

I'm assuming (and I'm probably wrong since I don't know anything about this stuff) that whatever was making the loud noise was a relay that was stuck. Possibly this burned out finally and is the cause of the fuse blowing? Not sure what to do first, any help appreciated.

Also, I found that the tilt mechanism is completely gone, there's no hanging wire and weight/bob.

#2 9 years ago

I would suspect you had a coil locked on in one of the score reels. You probably smoked the coil that's why your popping fuses. You'l need to inspect the score reels to see which one has the bad coil. It should be fairly obvious. It will be dark and stinky.

Once you replace the coil you'll need to figure out why it was locking on. Could be a stuck play field switch, misadjusted or missing score reel EOS switch or other...

#3 9 years ago