800x600-thematic_games-ARTG019-the_thing-mockup (resized).jpg
718AYbKcKhL._AC_UF894,1000_QL80_ (resized).jpg
FeatureFilm_CampHappyTrails (resized).jpg
P1040651 (resized).JPG
9089330137548507368 (resized).jpg
20230813_194211 (resized).jpg
Mr President (resized).jpg
20230715_082913 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider vernisious.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1214 1 year ago
Quoted from Groo:

Anybody try Hall of the Mountain King? I ordered that from Game Steward and see it showing up in shops now.

I thought Hall of the Mountain King was great. I actually bought two kickstarter editions and never got around to listing or giving the second copy away. It has an interesting mechanic of resource gathering. I love polynomial placement games too. I thought it was a solid game.

#1218 1 year ago
Quoted from TigerLaw:

Friends are also total novices…all four of us nothing more than 80’s games before but want to learn modern board games. What are some good beginner games for us to also buy?

Cockroach Poker - cheap card game that works well with 4 or more people. My new friends get a good laugh and the rules are fairly simple. New people still make mistakes but you laugh and move on

Camel Up - horse racing but with camels. Make short term and long term bets. Easy rules. One action on your turn means the game moves along quickly. Big hit with my noob group.

Sheriff of Nottingham - good beginner game with funny interactions. You take turns being the sheriff. Meanwhile everyone is attempting to bring goods into Nottingham. There are illegal items that are fun to sneak passed the sheriff but don't get caught or you'll pay the fines.

Fake Artist Goes to New York, Modern Art, Parks, Century Spice Road, Coup are some others that come to mind.