Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 60 posts
  • 38 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by wayner
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic poll

“What do you call it?”

• Pinball or pin 221 votes
      84%
    • Table 29 votes
      11%
    • Something else entirely (pinny, board, POS...) 12 votes
      5%

(262 votes)

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

th-176.jpeg
    Mystery_spot_entrance.jpg
    front.jpg
    There are 60 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 9 years ago

I've been collecting pins for about 15 years. Up until the last couple years, the games have always been called "pinball machines" or "pins". Now I hear people calling them "tables"??? Not sure how the term "table" ever came about or how it started. It just sounds weird to me.

#2 9 years ago

"pinball table" is where table came from.

#3 9 years ago

Maybe since people started putting them in the kitchen and started eating off them?

#4 9 years ago

Before I play, I call it a pin or pinball.

When I am playing, I often call it MANY other things.

Chris

#5 9 years ago

To quote a song most of us should know. 'I thought I was the Bally Table King"

#6 9 years ago
    Quoted from Darcy:

'I thought I was the Bally Table King"

That's what he gets for playing a Gottlieb! lol. They were called tables from as far back as I can remember (if you exclude the 70s of course).

#7 9 years ago
    Quoted from Darcy:

'I thought I was the Bally Table King"

so it's a brit thing.

#8 9 years ago

For me table is a virtual pinball.

#9 9 years ago

Can't think of many "Tables" that have tops that are on an incline.

#10 9 years ago

Might have to look this up. Orignally in the 1920's and 1930's pinball machines had no legs. They were placed on counter tops or tables. This may have something to do with the table reference.

#11 9 years ago
    Quoted from girloveswaffles:

front.jpgfront.jpg

#12 9 years ago