Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 59 posts
  • 30 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by barakandl
  • Topic is favorited by 23 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20160707_163323_(resized).jpg
    IMG_0484_(resized).JPG
    CoredWire_(resized).jpg
    Misc_001_(resized).jpg
    Misc_002_(resized).jpg
    Misc_003_(resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Thermionic.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#18 7 years ago

I am somewhat new to working on pinball, but have been working on other stuff for over 20 years (vintage hi-fi gear, antique radios, guitar amps, microcontroller DIY projects, etc).

Through trial and error, I've settled on Kester #285 63/37 almost exclusively for point-to-point and PCB (occasionally use #44 for really dirty connections, but I am not entirely sure this is absolutely necessary). #285 is mildly activated rosin (RMA), which is less aggressive than the activated rosin (RA) in #44, but to me there is little difference in ease of wetting and flowing the connections. 285 residue must be cleaned, but is much easier than 44 to do so thoroughly with IPA alone (91% or greater only) and wets and flows a little easier than #245, which is a "no-clean" flux and is less aggressive than both 285 and 44 (more aggressive = more acidic/stronger reducing agent). For stubborn residue, I have always gotten good results with Techspray Flux Remover, which is a stronger solvent than IPA alone. I have noticed that #44 produces more copious smoke than other rosins, which may be what the OP is seeing. I use a small fan to blow the smoke away from the work area, as rosin smoke is a fairly severe eye irritant (the proteins which comprise your corneas do not appreciate having their oxidation states screwed with!)