IMG_5592 (resized).jpeg
IMG_5591 (resized).jpeg
IMG_5590 (resized).jpeg
IMG_5589 (resized).jpeg
IMG_5585 (resized).jpeg
IMG_5586 (resized).jpeg
Screenshot_20240526-142536 (resized).png
#1 52 days ago

Hi, EM noob here. So I joined the Zaccaria club back in December with a Zaccaria Universe. Bought it at auction, probably spent way too much and was sold on it being in better condition than it is. I really wanted to pick up an EM so I could learn to work on one of these things. When we got it home and plugged it in it worked pretty well, had some various quirks with some of the lighting and one of the drop targets. It sat unplayed for 5 months, fast forward to today, I've moved it down to the basement with our other games and went to start it up and it's getting stuck in some kind of post credit / pre player start loop.

Once a credit is on the machine is when the issue begins. I don't know what you call it but the 8 disc code wheel in the cabinet keeps cycling, I can also hear the sound of something cycling in the backbox. The 2 drop target coils on the right keep firing over and over, and the 2 drop target coils on the left seem to be stuck to on so I tend to turn it off after a few seconds as to not burn them out.

So here I am, I told myself I wanted to learn EM maintenance but I'm fighting the feelings of regret. I guess does any of this behavior point to anything specific or any advice on where to start looking? I have no experience reading wiring diagrams for these things so I am coming at this a total EM noob. My biggest concern is some loose metal debris like a screw or washer shifted during the move and fell into something bridging a switch or something but it's probably something else. I know a couple guys in my local league that work on EMs so I might ask them to come by and give it a look. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

#2 52 days ago
Quoted from frisbez:

You should probably start a new thread in the EM section for this.