• Topic is favorited by 6 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

PXL_20231229_191756764 (resized).jpg
IMG_1369 (resized).JPG
block diagram.pdf (PDF preview)
Pool_Champion cab door.pdf (PDF preview)
zaccaria-robot_schematics.pdf (PDF preview)
zacPS.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider BillinIndiana.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 10 years ago

First off I'm still a beginner. I managed to find a Devil's Riders at a garage sale about two years ago that had a bad bridge rectifier on the power supply board. I replaced it and have enjoyed many games since that, but haven't played it in over 6 months now.
Well, I flipped it on tonight and quickly noticed I didn't have any sound? Still I played a game and left the room for maybe 5 minutes. When I came back into the room I noticed that awful smell of electrical burning or at least getting hot. I shut it down and looked in the back box and nothing looked charred with just a quick look over. I powered it up again and noticed that the sound board LED powers on when I turn the machine on but I only get a little tick or a pop from the speakers and then it shuts off.
Also the heat sink that I had replaced the BR on years back was really warm? Still I'm not 100% positive that this is the source of the smoldering smell. I took it off and all four of my solder joints look fine from the bottom of the board.. I did use the heat sink compound on all three BR's when I replaced the sink too.
Anyone have any hints on where to start? I guess I should have replaced all three of the BR's when I had it off the 1st time. I guess if no one has any ideas I'll start there and replace all three , the older two and the newer one I did last time.
I attached a pic of the back of the board for what it's worth, but I don't know it might not even be the problem.?

Thanks for any help and tips on how to repair this myself, Bill

zacPS.jpgzacPS.jpg

#2 10 years ago