player 2 (resized).jpg
player 1 (resized).jpg
high score (resized).jpg
MPU & driver boards (resized).jpg
credit ball-in-play (resized).jpg
Farfalla2 (resized).jpg
IMG_5399 (resized).jpg
IMG_5400 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider martymart.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#2855 1 year ago

Hopefully someone can help with this one as I am new to working on Zaccaria's and have a Magic Castle that will not boot. I am looking to see if this is due to the power supply board or potentially the CPU.

I have tested the voltage from the transformer and they all looked ok.

Red / Red = 167v
Yellow / Yellow = 10.8v
Green/white / White/Green = 7.1v
Blue / Blue = 43.6v
Brown / Brown = 9.83v

The voltage at the test points on the Power Supply Board had a couple of points that looked out of spec and I was wondering would this cause the Power Failure to stop the machine booting.

TP1 - 198v - Tested this again later and it was showing 220v although display was disconnected so may be to no load
TP2 - 9.16v
TP3 - 5.9v
TP4 - 5.1v
TP5 - 38.1v
TP6 - -5.19v
TP7 - 4.95v

TP7 is also showing a high signal when tested with a logic probe.

As a starting point do I need to rebuild parts of the Power Supply Board. Looking at the results the High Voltage and 12v are off where they should be.

Any guidance is greatly appreciated as looking forward to getting this machine working.

#2858 1 year ago
Quoted from gianfri:

Your HV is damaged, one or both 2N3440 are dead and you are going to kill your displays if you don't fix it.
Better you compare the resistors values in the HV area with the schematics, sometimes the are dead too and this may kill the 2N3440 again.
Without the correct 12v output you may have the power failure active.
You may try to replace P2 rectifier.

Ok thanks for the information. I will order the parts and replace what is needed. Is it also worth replacing C1 while I have the board out.

#2859 1 year ago