paltrowsurfing.jpg
paltrow02.jpg
IMG_8615 3 (resized).JPG
giphy-1 (resized).png
IMG_4797 (resized).JPG
BF7111F3-1D8E-41F6-957B-14EDCA55527D (resized).jpeg
20171007_210826 (resized).jpg
20171208_223007 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Lucysuros.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

Hi Folks!

I’m new to the pinball hobby but I’m definitely hooked and serious. My first game is being delivered tomorrow! I know there aren't as many women as men into pinball but I plan to evangelize! Looking for advice on best approaches for improving my currently sub-par skills, learning more about the hobby and community, and mastering the new game that will be delivered tomorrow. It’s Guardians of Galaxy. I know it’s early and has to evolve, but I had a lot of fun playing it in bars and think it will end up being great. Anyhow, welcome any advice you have. Like should I focus on learning the rules of game first, just rack up time playing to improve ball control (any good tutorials on that?!) etc. Thanks!

#19 6 years ago
Quoted from LTG:

Welcome.
There aren't as many women in pinball. Hobby or industry. I think you'll find the ones that are, are very special.
Play your game. Watch Youtube videos for how to play videos. Learn the game's rules. Practice. And any leagues or tournaments in your area, participate. Even if you get clobbered. You'll learn and improve.
LTG : )

THANK YOU. I'm heading to YouTube!

#22 6 years ago

Once you see what's possible with a ball and 2 flippers, you can practice at home. Since you'll have your own machine, just working on a certain move or repeating certain shots instead of just playing full games is great practice.
Another good tip I received early in is that shots are on the flippers, as in, if you want to hit the left ramp consistently, watch for where the ball needs to leave the right flipper from and memorize that spot.