Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 17 posts
  • 12 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by LITZ
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

photo(3).JPG
    #1 11 years ago

I helped Kerry test and fit these.
    http://www.mantisamusements.com/xmen.htm

#2 11 years ago

I've never used this type of scoop protector before- how do they compare to cliffys? These seem like they might still allow for some slight chipping along the edge?

#4 11 years ago
    Quoted from denmark71:

I've never used this type of scoop protector before- how do they compare to cliffys? These seem like they might still allow for some slight chipping along the edge?

I had the same thought. The Cliffy's have the one little issue where it has some lip edge which has some effect on whether or not the ball falls into the scoop as designed, so he sells both a notched version and unnotched version based on customer preference, the notched version allows the ball into the scoop more often.

For the mantis protector Kerry said the lip of the protector is about 1 width of the metal below the wood, so it actually protects the edges fairly well but yes there is still some edge exposure. The main advantage being it has no impact on the ball on the left side of the scoop.

I am thinking that much of the damage is not when the ball drops in, it happens when the ball is shot into the back of the scoop and ricochets back and hits one of the 3 edges, and for that the Mantis protector should help. As many have mentioned a Mantis and hard-as-nails on the edges should solidify the edges well enough.