New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 212968)

Lethal weapon 3 stuck flipper

By Deadgreedo

2 years ago

Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by mikat11
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 2 years ago

I have a newly acquired Lethal Weapon 3. I am expecting my XPin psu to arrive on Monday. I’m having the common resetting issue, and didn’t feel like repairing the original board. Anyway, my left flipper started sticking over the past couple days. It gets stuck upward if I hold it for a couple seconds. I’m pretty new to owning my own pins, I’m assuming it’s the coil or maybe the button contact, but would like some insight from people with experience. Any ideas??
Thanks in advance.

#2 2 years ago
Quoted from Deadgreedo:

I have a newly acquired Lethal Weapon 3. I am expecting my XPin psu to arrive on Monday. I’m having the common resetting issue, and didn’t feel like repairing the original board. Anyway, my left flipper started sticking over the past couple days. It gets stuck upward if I hold it for a couple seconds. I’m pretty new to owning my own pins, I’m assuming it’s the coil or maybe the button contact, but would like some insight from people with experience. Any ideas??
Thanks in advance.

Don't make the mistake of blaming the obvious here. There are a LOT more things involved in making the flipper work.

The first thing to determine is it a mechanical or electronic problem?

When the flipper sticks, switch off the power and see if the flipper drops straight away. If it does that means it's probably electronic.

If it doesn't drop it probably means mechanical issues.

#3 2 years ago

Start with a new coil sleeve. A few bucks, or buy a whole flipper rebuild kit. I did my LW3 flippers when I had one, took less than an hour.

#4 2 years ago