Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 443 posts
  • 65 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by desertT1
  • Topic is favorited by 13 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

ebexpress.jpg
    image.png
    image(1).png
    crying-computer.gif
    image-4.jpg
    image.png

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider pinballer0415.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#88 9 years ago

So starting in 2015, will everyone's points start at 0? I am very new to competitive pinball and wanted to increase my state and national ranking. Have played in two tournaments so far of around 30 people each and have finished top 5 both times. With point totals of each tournament going down, I feel like it will be harder for me to increase my ranking if other player's points from the last 3-4 years are inflating their ranking.

For example: Player A and B played in similar tournaments with similar point distributions; however, Player A did this in 2014, but Player B got his points in 2015. Player A's average place of finish is 6th place scoring him 6 points an event for a total of 18 points. Player B's average place of finish is 4rd; however, due to the new rules, this only nets him 5 points an event for a total of 15 points.

Even though Player B finished better, he or she has less points under the new system.

I am all in for the new system and how it will rank people, but I feel like it will take 3-4 years before everyone is on the same base level. So someone like me who is new to competition and doesn't have points built up over the years seems to be screwed for the next few years due to the higher point values from previous years.

#90 9 years ago