Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

red and ted head .jpg
red and ted eyes+lids.jpg
Capture (resized).PNG
Rectifier (resized).PNG
12v reg.png
#1 7 years ago

H All, i recently purchased a RED and TED RS.
it has been one of my kids favorite games, so when a decent one became available locally, i picked it up.

the game is in overall nice shape.

i tested the game upon purchase and all coils/ flashers/ motors worked correctly except reds eyeballs and eyelids, as well as teds eyeballs and eyelids.

i have been working on my games for about 5 years now, so i have a pretty good understanding of how most things work, so first on the agenda was to get all these eyes working.

i now have 2 problems with the game.

problem 1

looking through diagnostics, i saw that all solenoids (#9-16) for the eyes went through fuse #104.

i pulled and tested 104, and i tested good.
i visually noticed that fuse 105 was possibly bad, it looked like it just had a small imperfection, so i pulled and tested 105, and it was in fact bad.

i then replaced the fuse with the CORRECT 3a slow blow fuse.

when i powered the game back on, REDS eyelids CLOSED, while TEDS remained OPEN,
and i got smoke from the power driver board in the backbox.

i immediately powered off the game, and removed the new fuse 105.

i double checked the fuse, it did not blow, and is in fact 3a SB.

driver board is still in game, but it appears that it smoked from vicinity of transistor Q56, but R97 and possibly R96 look fried.

odd thing here is that diagnostics and manual say:
fuse 104 controls #9-16, and that fuse 105 controls 1-8,
although 1-8 were working fine with blown fuse 105,
while 9-16 were not working with good fuse 104.

something is wrong here.....can anybody clear this up?

problem #2

fuse 105 is still removed.

since i figured i can live with the eyes not working till i get the driver board straight, i decided to use my time to replace some of the burned out insert bulbs.