Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20150221_112014.jpg
20150221_112152.jpg
20150221_111924.jpg
20150218_205524.jpg
#1 9 years ago

I'll preface this by saying I'm an electronics Noob . . . Need some help with my WCS backbox GI. Nothing works. The power driver board was just worked on by Clive @ CoinOp Cauldron.

Here is what I've done so far:

-Checked fuses (Pulled them out and checked). All good.
-Looked for broken wires. Couldn't see any.
-Folllowed Pinwiki to check continuity on J120 with Triacs etc. Good.
-Checked voltage J120 . . . see below
-Replaced the female connector at J120 and checked continuity from the connector to the last lights in the back box. Good.

The odd part is that I swapped J120 & J121 and the GI on the playfield worked at J120, but still the backbox GI did not on J121.

Also, when I checked the voltages for all 4 wires on J120 I got .245 or something like that, but when I swapped J120 & J121 and checked voltages I got 6 volts on J120.

I'm not sure where to go next with this. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Greg

Post edited by gjbwalker: problem solved

#2 9 years ago
Quoted from gjbwalker:

-Replaced the female connector at J120 and checked continuity from the connector to the last lights in the back box. Good.
The odd part is that I swapped J120 & J121 and the GI on the playfield worked at J120, but still the backbox GI did not on J121.

How aboot the male connector? Are you sure you have continuity from the front of the board/pin to the back of the board traces?

If J120 works with both strings, and J121 works with neither, I might think it's not getting the correct juice to the pins.
EDIT: you have continuity with the female side to sockets, so let's look before that.

#3 9 years ago

I'll double check that and report back.

Thanks!

#4 9 years ago

You mention the playfield works on J120 and J121, correct, but the backbox works on neither?

You most likely have a wiring problem.