Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20230320_173653 (resized).jpg
20230320_162338 (resized).jpg
#1 1 year ago

Left side GI in WCS is out. I pulled the driver board and found a cracked solder joint. My plan is to reflow the cracked joint but I am nervous about causing further damage. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Here is a picture of the damage:

20230320_162338 (resized).jpg20230320_162338 (resized).jpg
#2 1 year ago

Did you check the fuse first?

#3 1 year ago

Do you have a picture of the connector? It could be that also

#4 1 year ago

I'm not a pro but reflowing a header pin is pretty easy but I will check the other things first.
Also they are daisy chain so make sure the chain isn't broken.

#5 1 year ago

Put a small bit of fresh solder on the iron's tip before heating the cracked joint. This will help heat transfer and the fresh Flux aids in reflowing the solder. It will be obvious once the old solder melts and reflows.

#6 1 year ago
Quoted from sullivcd40:

Left side GI in WCS is out. I pulled the driver board and found a cracked solder joint. My plan is to reflow the cracked joint but I am nervous about causing further damage. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Here is a picture of the damage:
[quoted image]

There's no real 'damage' there - someone has already reflowed the header.

#7 1 year ago

I was checking the connector for voltage and when I pressed on the wire the GI came on. So I repinned the connector and it didn't resolve the issue, so I pulled the board and found the cracked joint. Good to know it's not damaged, thats what I was hoping. Should I be concerned with the solder that had crept up the trace? Or should I just reflow and not worry about it. Here is a picture from a different angle.

20230320_173653 (resized).jpg20230320_173653 (resized).jpg
#8 1 year ago
Quoted from sullivcd40: