(Topic ID: 76668)

WPC DMD Driver Board Choices

By dropdeadhippie

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

I need a replacement wpc dmd driver board for my getaway (hopefully I'll find somewhere to get the orig fixed). I want to buy a replacement/spare board. Looks like there are two main aftermarker boards available (Rottendog and Xpin). Any suggestions of what to go with for a replacement board? Is there anywhere selling nos or repaired orig boards?
Thanks,
Matt

edit:
Just to clarify I'm refering to the dmd controller pcb.

#2 10 years ago

Keep an eye out for parted out games.
I have no experience with this board by rottendog or xpin.

#3 10 years ago

I have a spare rottendog board that has never had issues in three years. I had to repair my older board about five times and do not have the heart to put it back in the machine. I like to have two boards however.

I only had to run a jumper on back of the rotten board because my topper lights were not working on my WH20. Other then that the board is solid.

#4 10 years ago
Quoted from Industen:

... I had to repair my older board about five times and do not have the heart to put it back in the machine. I like to have two boards however...

How did you repair it ? I also have a defective board in stock that I would like to fix.

#5 10 years ago

I just learned over the years. Most problems were easy to fix. Transistors for G.I a few times, I had to change a couple of caps and rectifier for a reset issue. The most advanced thing I did was repair a eyelet on the board because the eyelet was burned off from a previous hack. This fix repaired a row of lights. That little tool was not cheap unfortunately.

#6 10 years ago

I bought a xpin board from ksarcade.net a year ago. It was dead when I got it. Called them up and had them send me a Rottendog and sent the xpin back. It does the job just fine and it saved me like $30.

Promoted items from Pinside Marketplace and Pinside Shops!
$ 95.00