PA020025.jpg
PA020023.jpg
PA020017.jpg
PA020015.jpg
PA020010.jpg
PA020006.jpg
PA020001.jpg
PA020003.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider wolffdp.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#11 8 years ago

Hi, I'm the guy making these kits. Thanks for the great write-up! I'm relatively new to pinball but I'm an engineer who has been doing design for more than 35 years. This board design came out of my own experience restoring machines and being shocked at the cost to replace dead displays.

The ICs themselves are CMOS so they draw negligible current. The 7-segment LEDs draw 20 mA per segment when on. The Bally pinball machine design has multiplexed displays, i.e. only one digit per display is actually on at any instant in time. So if every digit is showing an '8' (all segments lit) the display should draw about 140 mA. I would figure about 145 mA worst case when accounting for all other loads on the board. If some segments or digits are not lit the current draw will drop proportionately. (e.g. 1 digit showing an '8' = 25 mA, 6 digits showing a '1' = 42 mA )

Absolute worst case: If all 5 displays are on and every digit is showing an '8' they could draw as much as 725 mA total.

#13 8 years ago

I have not tried measuring the actually current draw on the 5V supply. The schematics I have looked at imply that at least 3 different types of voltage regulators were used: LM323K, LAS1405 and 78H05. The 78H05 is rated at 5A and the other two at 3A continuous (and in my experience usually work well beyond the rating). All three have over current and over temperature protection so they should not be damaged if the load ever gets too high. The transformer is actually fused at 4A.