PA020017.jpg
PA020015.jpg
PA020010.jpg
PA020006.jpg
PA020001.jpg
PA020003.jpg
#1 8 years ago

http://ilaina.wix.com/wolffpac-tech

First of all I’m not a professional tech. I have repaired a few boards but I consider myself still a beginner. I saw this kit on E-bay and was considering it when CNKay recommended it to me. At that point I ordered 2 kits. I looked over the kit when it arrived and it looked very professional and complete. I also looked over the instructions on line and they looked simple and complete.

The PC boards come with a gloss black finish that really looks nice but the gloss finish does make it a little difficult to assemble because of the light glare. However, I’m not sure I’d want that changed because it looks so nice when complete.

Today I built the first one. I made a few changes. I don’t like the locking header pins so I used header pins from GPE without the locking bar. (plus the header pins match the black PC board.) Also I installed IC sockets – Probably not necessary but being my first kit I didn’t want to take the chance I might screw something up.

It took me most of the day to assemble the kit – not that it was difficult (actually it was very easy). Each kit contains two boards and each board has about 135 solder connections. I’m sure most of you could assemble it much quicker but I install a few components then look over my work with a photo loupe before moving on. About the only difficult items were the J2 and J3 connectors – those pins are very close together and some care must be taken when soldering them. But even I managed it without any bridging.