Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by zacaj
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 5 years ago

I'm hoping the Pinside regulars will jump aboard this topic and lend some help. I'm a noob to WMS System 3-7 games, and I'm regretting being brave enough to learn! I have a WMS Pharaoh that came to me and it didn't boot. GI only. No life on the MPU, no displays. The game has original boards and a Rottendog WDP3211A power supply.

Here's what I've done so far before I did the initial power on:
- New sockets for ROMs and other chips on MPU.
- 40-Pin interconnect re-done.
- Re-flowed all pins.
- TIP-42 to MOSFET/resistor upgrade.
- Added fuses to the backbox rectifiers.
- Barakandl's solenoid saver conversion.

I've got the thing to power on and give steady voltages. I'm currently at a "0" on the MPU and one bottom LED light solid, with no score displays.

I'll be reading through Clay's guide this evening, if I can source a copy, but any leads on where to start with this issue would be appreciated.

R

#2 5 years ago

http://www.flippers.info/system6repairpart4.asp

Sounds like you have a short in your driver board. Not many good ways to find it sadly. Probably one of the chips is bad, unless there's some bridged trace somewhere. Try just leaving it plugged in for a while and see if any parts get hot?

How are you 'connecting' the driver board? All connectors? Just interconnect?

Tried a test rom to confirm your MPU is fine?

#3 5 years ago

OK...so I've burned and installed the test ROM and followed the guide here: http://www.flippers.info/system6repairpart4.asp

I jumpered the board to handle a 2732 test rom as that's all I had on hand.

The LEDs and digit pulsed upon applying 5V.

I get pulsing signals from pins 2-17 of the PIA.