Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20201028_191114 (resized).jpg
20201028_192047 (resized).jpg

#1 11 months ago

I'm new to the site...
I had a perhaps long winded background typed up about this machines history, had some pics, then I guess I hit a wrong button and it all disappeared

So if your interested I can rattle on about it later.

Anyway.
I acquired the Wizard probably 10 years ago, in unknown condition, it has sat in a barn out in the cold (-40) for the last 5 or so years.
I know I know, I understand if I am chastised for that..

The back glass graphic are flawless (phew) the play field is also in very good condition.

I am a HD mechanic so I know my way around electrical and mechanical systems fairly well.

I put the head on, polished the connector pins with a brass wire brush and applied a *light coat of dielectric grease.
Reseated the connectors from the play field on to the lower relay/switch board (not cleaned or greased)
Checked briefly the rotary switches and they seem to be in good shape and move freely
The score wheels are a bit sticky and will need cleaning.

Plugged it in..... nothing.
No lights
No motorized switch drum
If I tap the L flapper the 2nd coin chute relay chatters as long as the button is depressed.

Started to check things

The transformer is outputting the correct voltages at all the taps and that correct voltage is being transferred through the fuses (checked at terminals)

Found the coin return sol not connected (looks like previous owner didn't finish the job)
Soldered them on.

Found the coin mech micro switch malfunctioning, swapped that out with a good one.

These repairs didnt change much.
What does happen is now the coin switch makes the 2nd coin chute chatter intermittently causing 1 or more credits to count on the wheel with 1 coin insertion.