(Topic ID: 87364)

Wish Me Luck - Advise on Shopping Out My First Pin SWT

By ThatGuy

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

I consider myself an extreme novice fixing anything let alone taking on the challenge of shopping out a pinball machine. I have a HUO Star Wars Trilogy that I've decided to shop out, mainly to replace bulbs to LEDs that I can only get to if I take off the ramps. The ramps are very dirty. I also bought a rubber kit.

So, what advice is needed? I've already taken pictures with my iPhone for reference but am still scared I'll screw up somewhere. I'm a teacher and just started Spring Break so I'll have days to myself to dedicate. Fingers crossed!

#2 10 years ago

Take more pictures!

What I always do, is take it apart, section by section, the put them in bags in backwards order.. so the first bag would be 1, then 2 and so on... when you put it back together, start with the last numbered bag so you know you can put it all back together correctly... otherwise you will put a ramp back in, and then find out you need to put something under it you cannot get to.,

While you tear it down, take MORE PICTURES, so you know where everything goes..

Pick up a few dry tack cloths.. If you wax it, they are great to go over the playfield and pick up the small bits of wax that get left behind.. IF you can, once the LED's are installed and after you wax the playfield, turn off the lights in the room, turn the game on with the LED's, you will see what wax you missed.

Number the connectors under the bottom of the playfield as you take them off! Label both sides of the connectors with the same number, so you do not get any of them on backwards..

Do NOT force anything out.. you will eventually hear a snap... that is always bad.. especially those ramps, I have shopped two of these games.. if you break them, you will not find any replacements!!