(Topic ID: 231308)

Starting to get some clues, any more tips? Gottlieb!

By JDGravina

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by erak
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 5 years ago

Ok major newbie here, not looking for any detailed diagnosis. The right slingshot on my #Wipeout is not firing. When the ball hits the rubber it does trigger score and sounds for the slingshot, but the coil doesn't fire.

I'm not knowledgable enough to really diagnose the problem. Anyone have any really simple things to check before I pay a tech to come out and look at it? Like specific switches to look at (are their some up line in the switch matrix that could effect this), a fuse, or something specific to check quickly? It does have LED's in it, which I heard can cause some problems in these.

Thanks for any ideas!

#2 5 years ago

I believe on Gottlieb machines, if the slingshot switches are stuck closed, the machine removes power from the coil. Look at the two metal blade sets sticking up behind the rubber. Each set has 2 metal blades. They should be gapped. If they are touching, they need to be adjusted. A ball hitting the rubber should close the switch.
ANY ADJUSTMENTS SHOULD BE MADE WITH THE MACHINE POWER OFF.
Might be easier to see with the plastic removed from the sling.

#3 5 years ago

Thanks, that's exactly the type of thing I'm looking for, although no luck. The switches were adjusted pretty well.

I may add the coil doesn't fire in the test mode either, if that makes a difference.

Any other ideas would be appreciated! Thanks for your time!

#4 5 years ago

Next I would inspect the coil, look for a loose wire, broken wire. Does the mech move freely by hand? Any burn marks or discoloration on the wrapper? If all checks our underneath, it may be a board issue.

1 week later
#5 5 years ago