• 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by MrBally
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Pinball (resized).png
There are 56 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 5 years ago

Hi everyone! I’ve been a long time lurker, total newb to pinball repair. About 5 years ago found an Atari Space rider cab but ultimately sold it because I couldn’t figure out how to fix it.

I’m back... and I picked up a Williams Tripple Strike that I knew was a basket case but damnit I want to learn how to work on these. I figure a Tripple Strike is as good a place to start as any. The coin mechs have been removed and god knows what someone’s done on them but new wires and soldering abound so I’m guessing it’s was modified to free play? Unsure.

Symptoms:

Plug game in and turn on toggle switch, playfield and head unit bulbs light up. Very faint humming coming from inside the bottom of the body near the transformer and relays. Other then that,no sound. “Game Over” lights lit up on the back glass.

Press start button. Game over light turns out and a loud buzz now comes from the lower back part of the body none of the reels reset and absolutely NOTHING resets on playfield or in the body. The buzz is coming from a relay on the bottom right in a row of relays leading away from the transformer. On of the relays seems to be energized and buzzing. Nothing else happens, no score reels turn nothing at all. If I manually trigger the score reels they all turn fairly easily but nothing else happens, playfield is unresponsive all except for the “strike” rollover which causes the rear score reels to buz loudly but not turn. Manually helping the score reels turn changes the buzz on the relays from loud to faint. Nothing else on the playfield turns, no reset at all, drop targets stay down. No other rollovers or triggers result in score reel buzz what so ever.

_____