You

Linked Games

• Taxi Williams, 1988

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Untitled.jpg
untitled.jpg
#1 8 years ago

Greetings all, I have a Taxi that I bought in rough shape at an estate sale. It was sitting in a damp, detached brick garage with significant moisture issues. It barely did much when I first brought it home. I've gotten it to the point where I can play a game on it now. It seems like all of the play field features are functional, and the displays and scoring seem OK. However, only the left half of the the GI lights on the play field were working. During the troubleshooting for this, I found that much of the small relay board under the play field (labeled as 'RlyBd Sol. 11' in the Taxi manual) and its connector was burned/melted. I replaced the relay board and molex connector with a new ones from Marco, but now none of the play field GI lights are working.

I'm still a novice at reading schematics, so I'm not sure where to go with troubleshooting this. I've checked the 4 GI fuses on the backbox interconnect board. Can someone point me in the right direction? What kind of voltages should be present on the pins to the PF relay board? What's the best way to check the ground? What else can I check?

Thanks in advance.

#2 8 years ago

Start by grounding the brn-org wire at the relay board.
If the lights do not come on when you ground at this point, then you have a downstream problem (i.e. relay board has a fault, relay connectors have a fault, no power getting to relay board etc...)
If the lights do come on then you ground at this point, then you have an upstream problem (i.e., wiring connector problem from MPU, driving transistor fail, etc..)

untitled.jpguntitled.jpg

#3 8 years ago