Williams Reboot???

By Pinballdad1961

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

I am a total newbie to solid state machines and probably should get out before I fall into a black hole, but I will ask a question first.

I'm looking at a Cyclone that the owner claims needs a "factory reboot". What does this mean and how do you do it?

#2 6 years ago

You should ask him what that entails and why it needs it, because that's not a "thing" as far as I know.

There's "factory reset" which restores to default settings and can sometimes clear up some issues, or you sometimes have to do if there are problems related to the batteries, but it would be weird to say it needs it, as anyone can just do it by pressing a few buttons.

#3 6 years ago

I read the factory reset in the manual, but wasn't sure what was a reboot -- thanks for the reply!

#4 6 years ago

I'd be suspicious why he hasn't done the factory reset himself if that's "all it needs", as it is only a few clicks. Plus, there's very few problems that would fix, so it usually shouldn't be 'needed'.

#5 6 years ago

It is probably booting up with Factory Restore on the screen. This means that the batteries have been taken out or are dead. It could also mean that there is battery damage on the MPU board.

Sean

#6 6 years ago

If that is all it needs ask him to do it. There are a lot of people here that have Cyclones and I don't mean to step on their toes but the game is boring as fuck. If you are just going to have one pin do not buy that one as you will be bored with it in no time.

#7 6 years ago
Quoted from zr11990:

If that is all it needs ask him to do it. There are a lot of people here that have Cyclones and I don't mean to step on their toes but the game is boring as fuck. If you are just going to have one pin do not buy that one as you will be bored with it in no time.

His profile says he currently has 5 games, but I agree. This is not a game I would be clamoring for either.