Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20150119_115838.jpg
20150110_100306-610.jpg
20150110_100325.jpg
20150110_100314.jpg
#1 9 years ago

I just received this pin yesterday and all the flippers were not working. Upon investigation I see that the fuse is blown on the fuse holder. I am new to pins but, have some decent understanding of electronics.

I have checked the flippers and other than the switches being a little corroded they appear to be fine. What else would cause these this fuse to blow?

That brings me to the next question.

While looking for the flipper problem I discovered a blown transistor. The schematics say that this goes to a special solenoid (#1 in particular). Is this relatively normal on these older machines?

Thanks for any help as Im sure this wont be the last question I ask

20150110_100314.jpg20150110_100314.jpg 20150110_100325.jpg20150110_100325.jpg
#2 9 years ago

It happens. Flippers draw a lot of current and if both flipper buttons were pressed at the same time, three solenoids activating could be enough to blow the fuse. Shouldn't happen... but it could.

Measure resistance on all of your coils and make sure none are shorted. Flipper coil large windings should read around 3 ohms, small windings can read into the hundreds. All other playfield coils should read around 10 ohms. Go through self-test and verify all coils work as they should.

#3 9 years ago

Best advice I have would be to go through the game systematically, completely. Which fuse is blown? (on what board, id#?) The special solenoid transistor is usually a result of another cause, such as a stuck switch. You may have more than one problem, especially on a newly aquired game. All the fuses should be checked for proper values and other basic checks to evaluate the health of the game.