Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by Jc-trout
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 7 years ago

Hello all. I'm having problems with what appears to be a connected row of lights on the right side of the play field. They all do not light up. The lights in question are to the right of the right flipper, under the guard rail, then one behind the right bumper, another behind the right side drop targets, then a couple more along the right side toward the top. They all seem to be connected together, and all the bulbs tested good. I think I've traced the wires up to a connector behind the back glass going to a board, but I'm not sure how to proceed from there. This is my first attempt working on a Williams machine. Any help would be much appreciated and thanks in advance for any help or guidance. JC.

#2 7 years ago

Sounds like youre referring to the GI lights. Does the connector look dark colored?
Did you check the fuses in the backbox with a meter? Williams likes to separate the GI into separate runs all on individual fuses. If fuses check ok, I'd guess maybe cold solder joint on the board headers or connector issue.

#3 7 years ago

Your General Illumination (GI) string is out. Towards the right side of the board are 4 or 5 fuses. First pull one end of each GI fuse on the innerconnect board and test continuity with a meter. Replace any that are bad (open). The next issue could be a tarnished or burned GI connector. There are 3 on the right side and one or two over on the left. Try reseating the connector and see if the lights come back on. There are several GI connectors on the innerconnect board so it might not be the first one you come to. If the lights come back on after reseating, best to replace the header and connectors. GI headers and connectors never get better.

#4 7 years ago