Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by jb343
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 3 years ago

Hi, I have a Williams High Speed system 11. I have owned it for 20 years and recently got it going again with the help of this group. Thank you. Really enjoying pinball again, when it works...

Now, I have the following problem and seek troubleshooting advice. On a 'good' game or ball, with everything lit up, I'll get a loud noise and the display freaks out. Usually asterisks, all bars lit, some buzzing. Or the game stops with a simple beep and goes dead.

Fuse F4 usually has blown. But not always. This fuse controls most of the solenoids. The diagnostics don't indicate any obvious issue to me, but I'm no expert. I'm thinking something is triggered, maybe one particular solenoid while the current is high, but how do I find this? Otherwise it plays ok. Worn playfield and all.

I have a manual and can read a schematic, with some limitations.

Thanks, and HNY

#2 3 years ago

Have you run through the solenoid test mode?

#3 3 years ago

sounds like power supply issues. Measure your voltages with your DMM and report back. Seems like the game is resetting or dying under load which will take out that fuse as you will get one or more locking devices when the computer stops running.

If power supply has never been touched I can guarantee the caps need to be done at a minimum.

#4 3 years ago
Quoted from RCA1:

Have you run through the solenoid test mode?

yes, they all pass when I replace the blown fuse

#5 3 years ago

thanks hawk007 will do. I replaced all (most?) of the caps when I got it. That was some time ago. Will check Power supply.

HNY

Quoted from Hawk007:

sounds like power supply issues. Measure your voltages with your DMM and report back. Seems like the game is resetting or dying under load which will take out that fuse as you will get one or more locking devices when the computer stops running.