6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by MrBally
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider jdl511.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

I have a 15 yr old special needs son with an interest in arcade games. He recently purchased a Williams Cherokee Shuffle Alley with his birthday money. Although I'm pretty handy, I'm new to EM repair. We also have a Bally Trail Drive pinball. We just acquired the manual and schematic for the shuffle alley. We've been cleaning switch contacts and replacing missing or burned coils. #1 Most recently, we installed a new lock relay coil that was missing altogether. It energizes on start up, but buzzes very loudly and gets hot quickly. #2 The game select switch receives power, but does not function. The game select step up functions when turned manually. When in the 6th fame game at "Game Over", it will reset to regulation when the machine is reset. So, I know the solenoid functions. #3 The player step up functions, but the 6th player is not reached before the gear meets the stop. If I manually move the reel two stops forward, the 6th player lights up and tallies score. But if I set the game to regulation with 1 player, it cycles through 5 players and remains of the 5th player and continues scoring. If I set it to 2 players, it will cycle through 1 and 2 while scoring correctly, but then goes to a "ghost" player frame where no player lights up for two throws without scoring, then returns to player 1. I'm learning on the fly here and am beginning to understand the functions of the internal mechanics, but am confused by the electrical wiring. I don't really know how to read the schematic and am looking for some advise. I've watched numerous Youtube videos on repair and learned a lot, but I'm not making much forward progress.... and the boy is not happ