Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 36 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by stangbat
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic poll

“Will my floor hold this weight?”

• Easily... no issue whatsoever 11 votes
      30%
    • No... spread the machines into other areas of the house. 5 votes
      14%
    • Maybe.... but im no structural engineer 21 votes
      57%

(37 votes)

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

shear moment (resized).png
    949E1602-74D0-4187-96F8-F55CC9005475 (resized).jpeg
    DEF2FED5-C3A2-432E-A2C5-EDE5D3668E6A (resized).jpeg
    #1 4 years ago

Having a pinball tourney at my house, and curious if i will have any risk of floor collapsing? Thoughts?

-Around 35-40 players.
    -8 pins in one room
    -room dimension is 30’ x 15’
    -wood flooring
    -room is on first floor w/ basement below.
    -floor joists are 2”x10” and spaced 16” apart.

#2 4 years ago

I think you're fine, but have them sign a waiver just in case!

For the record, I'm voting option#3.

I'd also keep the pins close to the walls, maybe spread out (4 each wall) as you mentioned.

Pics, or it never happened

#3 4 years ago

You will be finnee , just serve the guests salad

#4 4 years ago

2 x 10's @ 16" oc. can span 16'.
    You are fine.

#5 4 years ago

It depends...how fat are your friends?

#6 4 years ago

My gut feeling is you'll be fine. Loading makes a big difference. If the games are close to the wall, that's obviously better than if all the games were in the middle of the room. And consider that a pin might weigh 200-250+ lbs, but it is distributed over four legs that are a ways apart. A 250 lb person puts all that weight in a small spot. And the pins will help keep the load from occupants getting too out of hand because they take up a bit of space.