(Topic ID: 90825)

Why don't manufacturers publish rule sets?

By Nokoro

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 34 posts
  • 21 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Nokoro
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 5 years ago

I'm still somewhat new to this hobby, but there must be some reason for not publishing a complete set of detailed rules and scoring.

#2 5 years ago

Most scoring and rules are somewhat laid out in the manual. Well at least for the older machines. Once you get to the newer stuff with complex rules, modes and well the need for a huge rule poster and not just a 4x6 instruction card. Well.. good question.

#3 5 years ago

+1,000,000

It's somewhat fun to figure these out, or to snoop around and read other peoples summary of the rules, but trying to understand the notes section in the code updates seems a little less "customer friendly" than I would like.
    I wish each game had a page on Sterns site with a Bowen-esque breakdown of the rules.

#4 5 years ago

Just thought of this the other day. Came to the conclusion that they think you already dropped $xxxx on the game so why take the time to explain to you the rules? It's not going to help them sale any more games (even though I think it may), and it just costs them more time and money.

I haven't looked but is there a website that allows users to upload rules for games? I think it would be beneficial. I could tell you the ruleset for rollergames, sf2, hardbody, and playboy backwards and forwards. Would be happy to share the knowledge, just don't know where the best place would be...

Maybe it is something that could be done here on pinside? Is there an interest by others to start putting rulesets up?

#5 5 years ago

I like learning the machine as I go. They usually give you the basics but leave some things a mystery until you play some games on it. I actually like it this way.

#6 5 years ago
    Quoted from BeaverBrewing: