New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 265218)

WhiteWater - Audio Board - Fart and Fire

By MrCleanHead

6 months ago

Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 months ago by MrCleanHead
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 2 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

IMG_0508 (resized).JPG
IMG_0509 (resized).JPG

#1 6 months ago

Hi Everyone,

Im new to Pinside and first time posting. Since Im stuck at home I figured I would go through all my pins and get up 100% to enjoy them again.

I have a Whiter Water pin that I have owned for about 23 years now and has been sitting for about 3 years. No mods to the machine and the only repairs that I have done were the replacing the bridge rectifiers and capacitors on the power driver board for the reset problem, this was done years ago. So last week it was Whiter Waters turn to get up and running and install NVRAM. I visually checked under the play field and the boards to make sure nothing looked out of place. Turned the game on and the DMD came on, I had the back glass off but the light door closed, seen a flash, then the game made a fart sound, I opened the back box up and then the Audio Board started to catch fire. Turned it off and unplugged it. This all happened in seconds.

Seems that C27, C29, C26 and C28 burned up. Maybe others are bad, but this is what I see (attached pics)

I checked all fuses, they checked good. Visually checked the wiring and plugs. Installed the NVRAM since I was pulling boards

This is a new issue for me since I have had only little problems over the years that I can fix.

So...Where to start? Im not sure what to check, what I should have unplugged to check, etc... Im somewhat afraid to turn it on :-\

Any help would be great, and thanks in advance.

Rob