Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 1.36.52 PM.png
#1 10 years ago

I just started playing a Whirlwind in real life. On The Pinball Arcade, when you launch the ball, it either goes around the loop or it goes up and around the side ramp. When I was playing the actual game, I could never get the ball to go up and around the side ramp off of a hard plunge. It would sometimes go around the loop, but most of the time it would hit something before going all the way around. Is it possible to hard plunge around the side ramp? It is very useful for starting multiball, etc.

#2 10 years ago

It's really cheating if you can plunge the ramp

#3 10 years ago

If the wrong spring is on the plunger

#4 10 years ago

A full plunge should go around the loop. The skill shot is a soft shot into the drop targets, but I never go for that (lost too many balls after scoring a total of 10 points).

#5 10 years ago

I bet that it is not even possible to do that unless the plumb bob has been removed or some idiot has messed up the shooter lane ball guide.

#6 10 years ago

The plunge should go around the loop on a full or near-full plunge, but certainly NOT up the ramp. I used to play on a Whirlwind that was set up that way, free jackpots for everybody!

#7 10 years ago

I've played some Whirlwind machines that will allow the left ramp shot from a hard plunge, but it's rare, and indicates a machine that is not properly setup.

My Whirlwind at home doesn't do this, and the left ramp shot is extremely difficult. Possibly more difficult that it should be. I suspect I don't have the machine leveled properly. I'm shopping it right now, and will definitely level it properly once I'm done.

#8 10 years ago

Shouldn't go up the ramp...as said above it gives away too much free stuff that way.

#9 10 years ago