Whirlwind locking left kickback sticking/rekicking and not retracting - SOLVED

By TheDonnyKey

10 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 10 years ago

Hi guys --

I just purchased a Whirlwind table and have run into my first issue. This is my first table, and I plan on taking good care of her!

I'm a pinball tech noob, but I'll do my best to explain here:

After locking two balls in the left lane and releasing/starting 3-ball multiball, the left kickback mechanism is now sticking/keeps trying to kick after the two balls are ejected from the left lane. It doesn't fully retract back into the proper place after the kick, either. If I push the kicker mechanism back into place, it will stay in place until the game kicks again from either a multi-ball start or end of game ball release... then it sticks at full extension and keeps trying to re-kick over and over and over, but it never fully retracts back into the correct spot.

Any ideas? Has anyone seen this issue/resolved this issue or a similar one before?

Thanks much in advance!

EDIT: This is now solved. The apron was dragging the kickback and causing the issue.

Post edited by TheDonnyKey : Problem Solved

#2 10 years ago

Take it apart, clean it, check for worn parts, especially coil sleeve.

If you think it might not be too easy for you. Take some pictures first so you know how it goes back together.

LTG : )™

#3 10 years ago

Hey LTG --

Thanks for the tips -- I'll give this a shot this weekend.

#4 10 years ago

Problem Solved - Apron was dragging the kickback. Fixed via a minor tweak.

#5 10 years ago