• 9 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 84 days ago by HarrieD
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 86 days ago

Hi guys! I'm new here

We picked up a mostly working Whirlwind for the lounge at work. It needs some maintenance and at least a few new bulbs. The biggest issue is the display is completely dark. Had the top open and checked + reseated all the cables to the display board, no change. They all look ok, ribbon cable has no apparent damage.

I'm completely new to pinballs (other than playing some many years ago), though I have experience with electronics and computers (also retro).

The previous owner said the display works sometimes, but flickers.

Before I dive into the machine probing around (minding high voltages, of course) I wanted to ask if there are any classic issues on these I should check for.
High voltage caps? Grounds?

Other future-proofing tips specific for these machines? (Batteries are corroded, at least needs a change - looks like no board damage from a brief inspection)

#2 86 days ago

Definitely worth checking the HV section. A quick check with a multimeter and cheap fix.

Otherwise consider an LED replacement, have an XPin in my Taxi and it works a treat.

#3 86 days ago
Quoted from SteveCooling:

reseated all the cables to the display board, no change. They all look ok

Reseating does nothing to fix bad cables, except to introduce one more lost cycle in the life of the plug.
Replacement and repinning connectors is the only reliable fix. You can meter them out for continuity, but even that won't guarantee identifying the current handling capability of a poor connection.

Quoted from SteveCooling:

Other future-proofing tips specific for these machines? (Batteries are corroded, at least needs a change - looks like no board damage from a brief inspection)

https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/williams-system-11-bullet-proofing-thread

#4 86 days ago
Quoted from wayout440: