Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

8134CCD7-B5B7-4D40-9F13-62C056E9C369 (resized).jpeg
A723A3C7-5866-402F-AACA-4D9D1A9BEA55 (resized).jpeg
Hobbit Pinball (resized).JPG
egribglymti_o_tootsie-blow-pop (resized).jpg
15137890530971308725975 (resized).jpg
#1 6 years ago

I'm considering my first JJP game and all 4 are appealing for one reason or another. TH has the lowest buy-in. Which version is the one to look for (Smaug, Black Arrow, Standard)? Are they all JJP 2.0 so it doesn't matter? I'm new to JJP so any advice would be appreciated.

#2 6 years ago

Go with an LE. There are 3 versions available, LE, Smaug LE, and Black Arrow. Smaug's came out first, so are older. Make sure if you get one it has all the fixes. LE and Black arrow LE have all the newer fixes because they came out later. Only other differences are aesthetics. Different decals, different armor (gold, copper, and black) Smaug has gold dragon instead of red, and Black arrow has black flipper buttons and a black ball to react with the Newton ball. Both black arrow and Smaug have a different animation sequence as part of the attract mode. I bought an LE because I liked the side art the best, prefer the copper tone powder coated armor (didn't like the gold and Black is kinda plain) and prefer the red dragon. Didn't care for the black ball (hard to see). Love mine and have never had a problem other than replaced a broken spring and some switch adjustments. Not bad for over 1,000 games played. I have mine at 7.0 degrees and it plays fast. Hope this helps. Love mine and at the current used prices would jump on an LE (of your choice) especially since there is prediction of a big code update coming this summer. Don't do a standard. LE gets you the barrel pops,invisiglass (yes, it's great) and shaker. Buy the ring button mod from Flip n Out pinball, worth it.

15137890530971308725975 (resized).jpg15137890530971308725975 (resized).jpg

#3 6 years ago