Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 27 posts
  • 14 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by EMsInKC
  • Topic is favorited by 7 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20180712_232112 (resized).jpg
    20180712_231824 (resized).jpg
    20180712_231759 (resized).jpg
    #1 3 years ago

What do most people clear coat their em’s playfield with (if they do clear it)?

What is used to be the most authentic?

I’m clear coating a playfield that has a lot of white and was testing out my three clear coat possibilities on a white painted board. Varathane, Minwax Polycrylic and Spraymax 2k were sprayed side by side and the Varathane showed a LOT of yellowing, the polycrylic yellowed a little and the Spraymax was quite clear.

#2 3 years ago

I use 2k products. I worked in the auto refinishing business for many years and cellulose or acrylic 1 pack lacquers always faded any 'yellowed' over time whereas a 2k product remains completely clear for many years. Downside of the stuff is that it's highly toxic and you need to use adequate protection with it. I recently cleared an old scrap playfield with 2k clear just applying it with a brush (outdoors of course) and cross hatched it to avoid lines and it dried out well. Then I flatted it with some 1200 grit paper and polished it with some cutting compound. The results were pretty good and much easier than I thought it would be.

#3 3 years ago

You can’t just spray the 2k on? What do you use as adequate protection? Thanks. I need to get work on my Playfield because I feel like I notice it getting worse each day.

#4 3 years ago

It can be sprayed, yes. That is how it should be applied really. I only tried this method because it wanted to see if it was feasible.