(Topic ID: 187448)

Where to find 555 light sockets for Spy Hunter playfield?

By Krh13

2 years ago

Topic Stats

• 17 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by Lovef2k
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 2 years ago

Hello! This is probably an easy question but I am new to the hobby and did not see the information in my owners manual. I have a few lights on my playfield that do not work, even with new bulbs. If I swap a working light and socket into the one that does not work, it works. So I am looking for 6 or so replacement sockets but I am not sure which ones. I have seen some listed that look right but there are different sizes. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you!

#2 2 years ago

I'm assuming it's the black twist sockets. Put a new lamp in the socket and bend the metal tabs up then install and see if they work. Also those light boards can get cracked solder joints and make bad connection. Remove and reflow the solder around the header pin solder pads. It's rare you need a new socket.

Diodes can go bad, but that doesn't sound like your issue here.

#4 2 years ago

Keep in mind these are only for the twist-in lights that use the PCBs underneath the playfield, there are some lights that are not on PCBs on Spy Hunter and just use the normal wired sockets with their respective mounting tabs so you may need to mix and match depending.

#5 2 years ago

The link you posted is the ones I was wondering about.
I am going to call them in the morning to confirm.
Thanks!

#6 2 years ago

I have 6 non working lights and they are all the twist type sockets. After reading the posts here I checked all of them to see if it was a socket issue or something else. Half of them worked after swapping a different socket. The other half would not come on. Going to have to check on them. I am nervous about doing the solder myself. Time for YouTube videos or having someone look at it for me.