(Topic ID: 6186)

What's your experience with Varathane Clear Coats?

By herbertbsharp

12 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 27 posts
  • 18 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by desiArnez
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

4CCE30A7-F694-4027-8E10-55C0C1F941B7 (resized).jpeg
    DSC00045_1.jpg
    P1010076.JPG
    #1 12 years ago

I'm going to be clear coating my High Seed after some touch-ups. I have never done this before and I am leaning toward using Spray Can Varathane instead of investing in a compressor and spray gun etc. How does it turn out? Can you achieve that super glossy diamond plate-like finish? Any tips?

#2 12 years ago

If it is not water based, it yellows. I have a friend in my city that is an expert at cc'ing PF's, so that is one thing I'll likely never do, but anything not water based yellows from what I have been told.

#3 12 years ago

When done right it can work well. A friend of mine has mastered varathane, and his playfields look amazing. Most people would think his were professionaly done. I have had success with it as well.

#4 12 years ago

I used Varathane on my recent Apollo restoration and I think it came out very nice. I used my HVLP gun to apply it. I have also used the spray method as well but prefer the HVLP gun to lay a more level coat.

#5 12 years ago

I rattle canned my first playfield recently. I honestly only had the guts to do it because the playfield sucked big time already, and you can't screw up something that's already that f'd.

After the fact, I'm glad I did it. It does look significantly better.

However, it is way, way, way far from perfect. Somebody with an experienced eye could pick up tons of things quickly.