(Topic ID: 277134)

What is the Purpose of Memory Protect Switch?

By clodpole

3 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by LTG
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider MrBally.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#8 3 years ago
Quoted from clodpole:

What problem did Williams solve by including the switch with later games?

From the days when I was a service technician for a route operator:

When the coin door is opened, inserting coins does not increment the electronic bookkeeping coin meters for each coin chute. This way, when a service tech or coin collector for the route operator clears a coin jam, they test the coin chutes running several coins through to make sure credits are placed onto the credit counter of the game.

Some route operators paid their commission split via what the meters indicate. Without the Memory Protect feature, every "test coin" used by the person servicing the game needed to be recorded on a card/notepad in the game so those phantom credits would not be used to pay the commission split to the location owner.

There still was a notebook carried by the collectors listing what the meters indicated the previous collection.

Ironically, we only used a computer (back in the office) to pay splits (actually commissions) for the cigarette machines we had on the route. Checks were mailed.

The "soft meters" in the pins were used to verify that the coin mechs were't being stringed, or a hole was drilled in the cabinet to activate the coin switches, locks being picked etc.