Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 59 posts
  • 45 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Bublehead
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider bublehead.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#30 5 years ago

+1 on any working machine that spits balls, keeps score, and doesn’t smoke or spark (a lot). I was an electronic technician in the Navy, so I do all my own repairs, but being faced with fixing a machine prior to playing it is not something you want to start out on, unless you like basket cases.

Get one that seems to be working, that is you can flip the flippers, it makes lights and sounds, and will spit out 3 balls in a row and score a game. Take it home, play it, figure out what ISN’T working, and try and fix one small thing at a time.

This is the best route in to the hobby in my opinion, and it helps to have an old pinhead fart go with you when you pick it up so you don’t get treated like a total nube. My first machine was Pinbot as well. Something from mid 80’s to 1990 is a good choice.

Good luck.

#40 5 years ago

High Speed is a fun title for a first pin... falls between the slower Ballys and the faster first WPC’s, has nice snappy williams flippers and when waxed is a mommy bopper...

#51 5 years ago

Had a Roller Games in the family, brother owned it. Play is fun, and it has a nice Richie flow... but the song... oh my god that song... seriously, that song has been known to drive people to violence... he had the gun held to his head and was shaking like a martini and I just said “Roller Games?”, he just nodded and pulled the trigger... what a waste... damn shame.

#59 5 years ago

It's been almost 10 years since we bought our last pin... kind of space limited at 4 cabinets, but 4 machines total was were HER limit.