(Topic ID: 59251)

What has caused the resurgence of pinball?

By rustybomber79

10 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 210 posts
  • 115 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by pindan3
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

tron_1982_rare_still_by_kriegdersterne.jpg
    There are 210 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 5.
    #1 10 years ago

Hello All,
    I am new to the hobby and have been hanging out on Pinside taking it all in. I have seen alot of forums about how prices have jumped and that the hobby is experiencing a "bubble". I am not trying to start another discussion complaining about high prices.

What I am wondering what has caused the bubble of interest in the hobby?

Is it that Stern and JJP are making such cool games people are taking notice? (just an example, not tooting sterns/jjp horn or putting them down)
    Is it that more local tournaments are showing up?
    Pure nostalgia?
    A bunch of rich people with "too much bloody money"?
    Some weird shift in culture?

What do you guys think could be causing it?

#2 10 years ago

People that grew up playing pinball now have disposable income to buy these machines. My opinion.

#3 10 years ago

one werd...... TRON

tron_1982_rare_still_by_kriegdersterne.jpgtron_1982_rare_still_by_kriegdersterne.jpg

#4 10 years ago

Virtual pinball.

#5 10 years ago