New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 269904)

What equipment and best methods to use picking up a machine yourself?

By HydrogenHuman

6 months ago

Topic Stats

• 23 posts
  • 14 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 months ago by Dayhuff
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider luckymoey.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#3 6 months ago
    Quoted from HydrogenHuman:

I'm completely new to the aspect of driving to pick up a machine, and I just wanted to know what equipment should I bring and what methods should I do to make the pickup as smooth as possible?
    My current thinking is to bring along one of those hydraulic lifts along with some thick blankets to pull the machine out easily and slide it down cellar stairs.
    I have a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe which I saw can fit a machine perfectly fine which is good.
    Any advice and help for a newbie is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

A refrigerator dolly is better than a lift cart for moving the pin down/up stairs (2 person job) and to your vehicle. You can rent one at Home Depot, etc. Shrink wrap is amazing stuff. Use it to secure the lowered back box and protect the pin. Then remove the back legs with help from the seller or a stool, lower onto a blanket, tilt to a vertical position using front legs then remove front legs. Use the dolly to move the pin about a foot from your SUV with the bottom facing it, and tilt up and in. Some cardboard will help it slide in much easier. Some people also use a couple 1” or so diameter PVC pipes to roll it in - helps if the folded down seats are not perfectly flat. Reverse the process to remove and set up the pin.