Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 24 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 12 years ago by Shane300zx
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_2340_(Large).JPG
    RES_63marjpg.jpg
    #1 12 years ago

First post, so please be gentle

I was just curious as to why there has always been a sort of deference to the vintage pachinko games from the pinball community. I mean, what cooler accent could you have in a gameroom than an old 50's-60's-70's pachinko machine? I've been restoring these now for a few years, and sure, they were made in Japan, and sure, they were not coin-op, but seriously. They do look pretty cool, and both evolved from the same basic idea.

Pachinko and pinball really are like two brothers. I just wonder why they seem to be mutually exclusive. Any ideas?

RES_63marjpg.jpgRES_63marjpg.jpg

#2 12 years ago

To be honest, pachinko does absolutely nothing for me. Never has. Unless it's being used for gambling, I don't even see the point.

#3 12 years ago

In my case this was the surrogate while I lived in an apartment that definitely wouldn't appreciate a full-sized pin. This was a project pin from ebay - cost more to ship it than I paid as a non working unit. Opened it up and reconnected the incorrectly installed shooter spring and its worked great since. I refurbed a good portion of the mechanics (sticking from dirty balls), but haven't worked on lighting it up yet (9v). Next is to touch up the pf paint. Very much more difficult with all the pins and plastic.

IMG_2340_(Large).JPGIMG_2340_(Large).JPG

#4 12 years ago

I had one once which was also a original parlor machine. I restored it but ended up just giving it away to a church to have as a distraction on bingo nights.

#5 12 years ago

I would love to have a modern one to hang in the game room garage.

#6 12 years ago